- What To Do After a Car Accident
- What To Do In a Multiple Auto Crash
- What To Do If I'm Injured At Work
- Car Crash Survival Tips
- Best Time To Hire A Personal Injury Attorney
- Personal Injury law Basics
- Personal Injury Lawyers on Contingency
- Types Of Damages In A Personal Injury Case
- Attorneys For Car Accident Injuries
Drunk driving accidents are among the deadliest causes of automobile crashes and deaths in California and across the nation. In fact, if you live in Southern California, you know to watch out for drivers under the influence when you drive out on a weekend night or a long holiday weekend. Not to mention, you may have seen speeding cars along the Hollywood, Santa Monica, hermosa beach and streets elsewhere during the late hours. These drivers clearly have no regard for the law or your safety. It is not unheard of drivers under the influence crashing against someone returning home from a late shift at work. Ride-shares services such as Lyft and Uber give party goers a better option than driving after a few, or many drinks. Nonetheless, accidents still occur and in many cases they can also lead to loss of life.
It is one of the most irresponsible acts a person can engage in, yet at least 30 traffic deaths occurred in Los Angeles this year alone, due to driving under the influence. For example, in April of 2018 two people died in a fiery suspected DUI crash in the area of Vermont Knolls in South Los Angeles. If you’re the victim of a DUI or a suspected DUI accident, do not delay, call 855 977 1212 for a Free Consultation with an attorney.
The penalties for a DUI conviction in California are nothing short of consequential. First, a DUI conviction carries a $390 to $1,000 fine plus other penalty assessments which usually increase the penalty by thousands more. The convicted driver can also receive from 48 hours to six months of jail time. However, a first time offender typically gets only probation. The offender will also generally lose their driving license for six months in addition to a four months administrative suspension by the DMV. The latter applies if the offender’s blood alcohol concentration is of 0.08% or more. If the driver refuses to BAC test, it is a one year suspension) After that a driver may obtain a restricted license allowing him or her to only drive to and from places like work and/or school.
If you’ve had to drink and you are thinking of picking up the car keys please think again. You usually have the option of staying in for the night, calling for a friend or family member to pick you up, or calling a taxi cab or ride-share service such as Lyft and Uber. Please know that if you do drive under the influence you may not only suffer the full weight of the law but you may also deprive an innocent person of their life and take away someone’s loved one. A DUI conviction where death occurs can be charged as a felony and you may be prosecuted under the state’s tough vehicular manslaughter laws.
If you’ve been a victim of an accident, in a different vehicle or a passenger and suspect or know the driver was intoxicated, call 855 977 1212 to speak directly with an attorney. LA Jewish Lawyer’s highly experienced network of car accident and personal injury attorneys have the knowledge and experience to represent you in court, fight the insurance companies and get the best possible compensation for you. This compensation can include injuries, damages, pain and suffering, medical bills and lost wages. Often you may not have to pay a penny until your case is settled. Luckily, LA Jewish Lawyer has a network of courtroom experienced top Los Angeles Car Accident Lawyers and Los Angeles Personal Injury Attorneys that are ready to fight for you. Call 855 977 1212 for a Free Consultation with an attorney!
Do I Need A Lawyer After A Drunk Driving Accident